You are here: PSPad forum > English discussion forum > Adware InfoAtoms & Snap.Do

Adware InfoAtoms & Snap.Do

Goto Page: 1 2 3 4 Next

#1 Adware InfoAtoms & Snap.Do

Posted by: UpsetAboutAdware | Date: 2012-11-14 06:39 | IP: IP Logged

I downloaded this program to my brand new build, only to find out that some adware was installed with PSPad. I removed it, and looked very closely at the installation and found that I did consent to it. But it is disappointing and underhanded to bundle software that has such a bad name out there (InfoAtoms, Snap.do) with what I thought was a good product.

I am a developer, and people expect the software I deploy to them to be credible and trustworthy. I just don't feel that way about this product after discovering this.

There are other posts from other people about this. I am not sure if it changes anything. Instead, I will ask a direct question to the author: Other than InfoAtoms & Snap.do, was anything else installed on my computer?

... Scott

Options: Reply | Quote | Up ^

#2 Re: Adware InfoAtoms & Snap.Do

Posted by: pspad | Date: 2012-11-14 10:26 | IP: IP Logged

There is nothing installed as hidden.
Offered software has special screen in installer process. When you uncheck it, nothing is installed.

When you use silent installation (/silent switch), all offered software is disabled, so you can install PSPad via command line.

You can download ZIP package and use PSPad without installation.

I can publish INNO Setup installation script content or anything else you are interested of.
Or you can decompile installation package yourself to see the content.

#3 Re: Adware InfoAtoms & Snap.Do

Posted by: UpsetAboutAdware | Date: 2012-11-14 19:09 | IP: IP Logged

Not sure that you realize this, but Snap.Do has a nefarious reputation.

Snap.Do's reputation alone prompts me to fully reformat and re-install my machine. This will consume more time than I actually spend using PSPad, so I don't think I will be re-installing it after.