You are here: PSPad forum > English discussion forum > basic scripting instructions

basic scripting instructions

#1 basic scripting instructions

Posted by: rcook | Date: 2015-08-07 00:19 | IP: IP Logged

I am a computer programmer, expert in a couple of languages and competent in a few more. I cannot figure out how to write and execute scripts for PSPad.

I want to write a simple script and execute it with a keystroke. To start with, I'd like a keystroke to delete the line where the cursor currently is.

I have been searching for a couple of hours now and still have not found how to do basic steps. I've found some example scripts, and some reference material on available commands, but still don't know how to use them. I'm expecting to do something like:

1. write the script (I have examples for that, though instruction would be better)
2. put the script somewhere (I gather there are directories for each script language,
is that the only place such things can be stored?)
3. compile the script
4. run the script
5. attach the running of the script to the desired key somehow.

Where do I find these basic instructions?

Options: Reply | Quote | Up ^

#2 Re: basic scripting instructions

Posted by: pspad | Date: 2015-08-07 04:22 | IP: IP Logged

If you want to delete current line, press Ctrl+Y (for more shortcuts press F1 and look into help)

In the script call PSPad command ecDeleteLine. Somthing like for VBScript:

set obj = NewEditor()
obj.assignActiveEditor()
obj.command("ecDeleteLine")

#3 Re: basic scripting instructions

Posted by: vbr | Date: 2015-08-07 10:53 | IP: IP Logged

rcook:
I am a computer programmer, expert in a couple of languages and competent in a few more. I cannot figure out how to write and execute scripts for PSPad.

I want to write a simple script and execute it with a keystroke. To start with, I'd like a keystroke to delete the line where the cursor currently is.