You are here: PSPad forum > English discussion forum > Re: HTML reformatting

Re: HTML reformatting

#1 HTML reformatting

Posted by: snert | Date: 2013-08-08 11:26 | IP: IP Logged

I found this editor by chance while watching a webinar. It looks good. I used to use PFE back in the day (I still have it installed) and I also use VIM but this had features I wanted. The main one I want is the ability to reformat HTML.

I have set PSPad to be the HTML viewer in IE. As a web developer, I often like to see the resulting HTML that is produced by the system that I use. It isn't very tidy at all, in fact it's a massive block of unformatted HTML.

What I want to do is do view source in IE and see the HTML source. I want to have it either auto-format it so the tags are nicely tabbed properly and laid out in a readable manner. Something like changing this:

<html><head><title>Page</title></head><body>Text</body></html>

to this:

<html>
<head>
<title>Page</title>
</head>
<body>Text</body>
</html>

I read on the web page it can do this. It doesn't or I'm doing something wrong.

If I choose HTML -> Reformat HTML code the option is greyed out. I've read other posts that mention something in the Highlighter options which isn't there in the version I have. I have 4.5.7 (2450) installed. If I highlight the HTML code and choose HTML -> TiDy -> Choose any option and none of them reformat the way I want.

Can someone please shed some light on what I'm doing wrong?

EDIT: The forum doesn't show my example HTML as indented. Trust me it should be.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 2013-08-08 11:28 by snert.

Options: Reply | Quote | Up ^

#2 Re: HTML reformatting

Posted by: pspad | Date: 2013-08-08 13:28 | IP: IP Logged

Hello

You can use "simple" function from menu HTML / Reformat HTML code
Or you can use TiDy (last item in HTML menu) and Reformat only.